Hadestown's Director Rachel Chavkin '08SOA Wins Tony Award

CAA Arts Access
June 10, 2019

The 2019 Tony Awards were presented on Sunday, June 9, at Radio City Music Hall in New York City. Columbia alumni and faculty were among the notable nominees including director Rachel Chavkin '08SOA, who led with 14 total nominations for Hadestown and took home eight Tony Awards including Best Musical and Best Direction of a Musical.

Other Columbia alumni Tony winners included Ain't Too Proud, which was co-produced by Ron Simons '82CC, '89BUS and Columbia University School of the Arts T Fellow, Chris Maring, which won Best Choreography.

You can see the complete list of nominees and 2019 Tony Award winners here and Columbia alumni nominations here.